RSS Feed

Sunday Blues = Baking a Lemon-Blueberry Yogurt Loaf Cake!

Wow, I cannot believe that it’s Sunday night already!  This weekend just flew by.  I know that sounds completely cliche, but it’s true!  Sometimes, I really do wish I could pause, rewind, and repeat.  There is absolutely nothing that I would change about this past weekend.  Saturday was the first snow of 2012 and I can’t stop smiling!  I absolutely love seeing the ground covered in a blanket of white.  So, I got back tonight and what was the first thing that I thought to do (after eating dinner, doing laundry, and petting our two golden retrievers, of course)?  Bake!  I hadn’t made anything for over a week and I was itching to get into the kitchen and put something together.

Over the weekend, I kept showing my lovely boyfriend pictures of food from Pinterest (this site always inspires me!).  One of my friends had “pinned” a recipe for Lemon-Blueberry Yogurt Cake.  I couldn’t resist.  It sounded perfect!  I knew that we had lemons and frozen blueberries…and I was dying to use the Williams Sonoma bread pan that my sister had given me for Christmas.  I hope you enjoy this bread/cake!

Lemon-Blueberry Yogurt Loaf Cake (adapted from Sweet Peas Kitchen, which was adapted from Smitten Kitchen, which was adapted from Ina Garten)

This recipe creates one 9×5 loaf.

Loaf:
1-1/2 c flour, plus another tbsp flour
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 c lemon Chobani yogurt
2/3 c sugar
3 large eggs
2 tsp grated lemon zest
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 c canola oil
1-1/4 c frozen blueberries, thawed & rinsed

Lemon Syrup:
1/3 c freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/3 c sugar

Lemon Glaze:
1 c powdered sugar, sifted
2 to 3 tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray 9×5 inch loaf pan with Pam. In a bowl, sift flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk yogurt, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, vanilla, and oil. Pour dry ingredients into wet ingredients and stir. In another bowl, mix blueberries with another tablespoon of flour and fold into the batter gently. Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for about 50-55 minutes (toothpick should come out clean). Then, cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan. While this is cooling, make the syrup by heating the lemon juice and sugar in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Heat until the sugar is dissolved and then continue heating for 3 minutes. Then, set aside. Poke holes into the top and sides of the cake with a fork or a toothpick. Then, brush the top and sides with the syrup. Let the cake cool before making the glaze. To make the glaze, sift the powdered sugar into a small bowl. Then, add 2-3 tbsp of lemon juice. It should be thick, but you should also be able to pour it. You can add more lemon juice if it isn’t pourable. Pour the glaze over the cake and allow it to fall down the sides. Let it harden (~15 minutes) before serving.


2 responses »

  1. This turned out great!! I am so glad that you enjoyed it! I can’t wait to try it with the lemon greek yogurt! :)

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much! It’s a great recipe! It’s funny…I used the lemon greek yogurt because that was all I had in my fridge at the time. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

