RSS Feed

I can’t let go of my obsession with pumpkin…

I know it’s a little late in the season for pumpkin, but I just can’t help myself.  While looking for a can of soup at lunch today, I came across another can of pumpkin.  I just couldn’t help it…pumpkin bread or pumpkin muffins were going to be made!  I’m pretty excited to share these with you…I thought they turned out really well.  They’re not the typical, cake-like muffin, but more of a bread-like version.  Enjoy!

Pumpkin Muffins (from Sarabeth’s Bakery: From My Hands to Yours)

3-2/3 c flour
1 tbsp + 1tsp baking powder
1-1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/4 tsp salt
1 stick butter, unsalted, chilled
1-1/3 c sugar
4 large eggs
1-15 oz can of pumpkin

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. I used 2-12 muffin tins and lined them with cupcake liners. Sift flour, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, and salt into a medium bowl. In another bowl, beat butter and sugar. Then, beat in eggs and pumpkin. Mix the flour mixture into the pumpkin mixture. Scoop batter into the muffin cups till they’re about 3/4 full. If you want, you can sprinkle with sunflower seeds (the original recipe called for them). Bake for 10 minutes, then reduce oven to 375 degrees F. Bake for another 10-15 minutes until the tops are slighly browned. Cool in pan for about 10 minutes and then pull them out and cool completely.

2 responses »

  1. Hey Kristy!
    This recipe for pumpkin muffins looks outstanding! I love Sarabeth’s in NYC! We used to always get some of their buttermilk biscuits to-go when we went into the city, and I think we had lunch or dinner there once or twice. Have you been there?
    How have you been??

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

